On April 22nd, a new law was passed outlawing holding a phone when behind the wheel driving in Arizona. Warnings will start immediately and tickets will be issued beginning in 2021. Tickets will range from $75 - $250. Please be aware that many cities in Arizona already have restrictions on the use of cell phones when driving so now is the time to start using hands-free devices or waiting to respond until you are stopped in a safe place. Now, the only states that do not have a texting while driving ban are Montana and Missouri, although Missouri has some restriction on younger drivers.
A second bill has been proposed regarding distracted drivers, which would allow law enforcement officers to stop drivers for any unrelated to driving action they believe creates a hazard. (Examples could include the driver eating while driving, putting on makeup, shaving, or watching a TV screen)
Distracted driving has caused many accidents and injuries. Protect yourself, your family and others on the roadways. If you need to use your phone, pull over and stop. When driving, keep focused and alert, and our roads will be safer for everyone.
Learn more at: